Subject Guides: Place Based Research: ECOLOGY

Search for Books, Articles, and More

Beyond the Edge: New York's new waterfront by Raymond W. Gastil
Call Number: Stacks NA9053 .W38 G37 2002
ISBN: 1568983271
Publication Date: 2002
Ecological Urbanism by Harvard University Library Staff (Editor); Gareth Doherty (Editor); Mohsen Mostafavi (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks HT241 .E36 2010
ISBN: 9783037781890
Publication Date: 2010
Green Metropolis by David Owen
Call Number: Stacks GF504 .N7 O95 2009
ISBN: 9781594488825
Publication Date: 2009
Power on the Hudson by Robert D. Lifset
Call Number: Stacks HD9685 .U7 C7646 2014
ISBN: 9780822963059
Publication Date: 2014
Rebuilding Central Park by Elizabeth B. Rogers
Call Number: Stacks F128.65.C3 R64 1987
ISBN: 0262181274
Publication Date: 1987
Skyscraper: the politics and power of building New York City in the twentieth century by Elise Lemire; Benjamin Sitton Flowers
Call Number: Stacks NA6232 .F66 2009
ISBN: 9780812202601
Publication Date: 2012

Ecology

Ecology is an interdisciplinary field that involves the study of the relationships between environments and people. While ecological research is often centered around biological relationships and natural environments, the subfield of human ecology also considers social relationships and built environments.

Built Environment: Databases & Government Sources

Applied Science & Technology Source
Full text database with academic and trade publications covering applied science & technology disciplines.
LEED, United States Green Building Council
The USGBC's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) is a green building protocol and certification program that is "changing the way we think about how buildings and communities are planned, constructed, maintained and operated."
Urban Ecology Research Laboratory
University of Washington supported sites with original research studies, aggregated urban ecology news, and info on studying cities as hybrid ecosystems.
Urban Green Council
NYC USGBC affiliate with a mission to study and increase environmental sustainability of urban infrastructure.
Science Direct
Collection of science, technology, and medicine resources.

Natural Environment & Conservation: Databases & Government Sources

General Science Full Text
Database with articles on physical, biological and health sciences. Covers popular science magazines, professional journals and newspapers.
GreenFILE
Includes scholarly and general interest materials, government documents and reports. Offers a unique perspective on how humans affect the environment.
NYC Mayor's Office of Sustainability
Oversees citywide sustainability "policy development, oversight and implementation in coordination with relevant city agencies." Collects and publishes data related to urban ecology and environmental sustainability.
NYC Office of Environmental Remediation (O.E.R.)
Team of scientists and engineers who operate municipal clean up programs.
Science.gov
Selected scientific information from variety of science discipline including environment & environmental quality.
United States Environmental Protection Agency
Federal regulations related to environment. Resources on natural environment, sustainability, climate change.