Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NYCCT Archives

The NYCCT university archives contain historical materials from City Tech's precursors, the Vogel Ophthalmology Collection and the City Tech Science Fiction Collection.

NYCCT Archives Policies and Procedures

GENERAL ARCHIVES VISITATION POLICIES

During your visit:

  • Materials are located in the Archives Closed Stacks and will be brought to the patron in the public viewing area (Rm L543).
  • Items are not to leave the Archives; staff will photocopy reasonable amounts of material.
  • No food or drinks are permitted.
  • Pencils only, no ink.
  • Patrons are responsible for adhering to applicable copyright laws.

In addition, for class visits:

  • Instructors may book a class visit to the Archives during a time that the public viewing area is available.
  • Contact Prof. Wanett Clyde and Ms. Suraya Choudhury to reserve a time for your visit.
  • Students must be supervised at all times; instructors may not bring students back to the Archives Closed Stacks without prior arrangement with the Archivist.

City Tech Science Fiction Collection Access and Research Use Policies

 

  • The New York City College of Technology Library reserves the right to decide on the availability of collection materials.
  • Access to materials in the collection is dependent on the availability of library faculty and the adjacent classroom where collection materials may be viewed. If staff are otherwise engaged or the classroom is in-use by students, access to the collection is unavailable.
  • Advanced notice is needed to pull collection materials for researchers to view in the archive’s classroom.
  • Depending on staff availability and time, it might not be possible to pull additional materials other than those pre-arranged. If this is the case, a future visit can be arranged to view additional materials.
  • Invigilating library or other authorized City Tech faculty will remain in the archives classroom or nearby while researchers are viewing materials pulled from the collection.
  • Due to the fragility of some materials in the collection, some materials might require modified access with help from staff while others might be unavailable for research use.
  • Photocopying of collection materials might not be possible due to the fragility of the collection’s materials.
  • Researchers who wish to make digital photographs of materials for non-commercial research purposes is allowed. However, it is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain proper permission from rights holders for the use of copyrighted materials beyond those protected by Fair Use.