Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NYCCT Archives

The NYCCT university archives contain historical materials from City Tech's precursors, the Vogel Ophthalmology Collection and the City Tech Science Fiction Collection.

NYCCT ARCHIVES COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY

The College Archives was officially established by the President’s Cabinet, with the support of the College Council, in 1983. In 1987 the Archives opened in the new Ursula C. Schwerin Library located in the Library Building. Materials in the College Archives support students, faculty, staff and the general public (primarily alumni) and focus on documenting the history of New York City College of Technology.

Donated materials are accepted primarily from within the City Tech community as space allows, at the discretion of the library’s Archives Committee and the Chief Librarian. The Archives also considers gifts from the general public if they are germane to City Tech history and/or the history of the college’s academic disciplines. All donated items and collections are subject to evaluation for possible retention and, if accepted, become the property of the College Archives. They are to be used solely at the discretion of the Archives. Consideration of acceptance may also be contingent upon financial support from the donor for archival processing and cataloging expenses and for the purchase of appropriate archival document boxes, folders, and other preservation and housing materials, particularly for especially large collections and items from outside the college community.

The College Archives strives to identify and collect materials which document the history of the college. Items collected by the City Tech Archives include, but are not limited to:

  • College Council minutes and its standing committee minutes and reports
  • Other significant committee reports, such as Middle States Self-Study, etc
  • Various City Tech publications, including those published by campus offices and those published by student groups
  • Student Government Association minutes
  • Faculty publications
  • Appropriate CUNY documents
  • Press releases and media items chronicling the college and its activities
  • College ephemera such as programs, posters, catalogs of exhibitions, photographs, and memorabilia
  • Donated publications of college associations and clubs
  • Materials related to significant accomplishments of City Tech alumni