Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pacifica Radio Archives

A guide to showcase The Ursula C. Schwerin Library's Pacific

Since 1949 Pacifica Stations have recorded speeches, collected interviews and covered events documenting the struggle for democracy in the United States.  Today, Pacifica Radio Archives houses nearly 50,000 tapes featuring the words and wisdom - broad and diverse - of leaders and participants in the movements for peace and social justice.

The Ursula C. Schwerin Library at the New York City College of Technology of the City University of New York proudly makes available a number of the Pacifica Radio Archives programs.  This page highlights some of the recordings in the library's collection, connecting library members to these unique resources and provides brief introductions to the topics they cover.  

Alice Walker: Photo Courtesy of Georgia State University Library

Alice Walker, Atlanta Georgia August 14, 1983

Recordings of Alice Walker reading her work and talking about her life can be found on The Power of African American Women. Photo Courtesy of Georgia State University Library copyright Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Cesar Chavez

Listen to labor leader and civil rights activist Cezar Chavez' voice on Pacifica Radio Archives Sixty Years Sixty Voices Collection. Cezar Chavez. Photo courtesy of Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta.

Dorothy Dandridge

Dorothy Dandridge

Dorothy Dandridge's speech at a Freedom Rally held at Wrigley Field on 26 May 1963 can be heard on Pacifica Radio Archive's The Power of African American Women Compilation. Photo Credit: Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Dorothy Dandridge" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1950 - 1959. 

Shirley Chisholm

Shirley Chisholm

Hear about Shirley Chisholm's work on Pacifica Radio Archive's The Power of African American Women compilation.
Photo courtesy of East Carolina University's Digital Collections.  Copyright held by Joyner Library.