Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 1121

Research basics for students writing about literature, current social issues, or discourse communities.

FIND ARTICLES | SUGGESTED DATABASES

Academic Search Complete

The largest scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database.

Humanities Source

Articles from scholarly journals in humanities including literary criticism.

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in the arts and sciences in full text.

Communications & Mass Media Collection

Communications-related journal articles including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

Project MUSE

Journal articles and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Literary criticism, work overviews, and biographical information about authors. Includes the full text of Short Story Criticism.

Black Drama

Contains the full text of over a thousand plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

Black Thought and Culture

Primary sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.

Gender Studies Collection (Gale)

Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics in Women's Studies, Men's Studies, and Queer Studies.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

What's great about Google Scholar

  • Can be linked to City Tech library and other libraries (click on settings and then "Library Links") 
  • You can use the "cited by" feature to find more relevant material
  • Like library databases, generate a citation