The Fashion and Race Database Project is an online platform filled with open-source tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge mis-representation within the fashion system.
A New York-based network and support system for professionals working in the fields of fashion studies including archiving, curating, conservation, design and research that fosters collaboration, growth, support and the development of individuals and the community.
The Fashion and Race Syllabus is an ongoing academic project exploring the intersection of fashion and race, expanding upon and decentralizing fashion history. Our project also strives to cultivate and sustain a (virtual) research space for fashion scholars of color.
Based on Cornell research regarding use of 3D body scanner and the issues of clothing design and fit. Also includes glossary and links to other research on scanning, fit, sizing, and more.
Includes industry news and statistics; membership (apparel, footwear, & international) and supplier resource directories; RFID guide; trade show & AAFA calendars; publications list; legislative/trade news; and links.
Online business resource by Dr. Suzanne Loker, Dept. of Textiles and Apparel, Cornell University. "Provides industry-specific information to the entrepreneur who is developing, producing, or selling an apparel or sewn product or a service."
Kathleen Fasanella, author of The Entrepreneur's Guide to Sewn Product Manufacturing, provides "lessons from the sustainable factory floor" on topics such as production, operations, inventory, patterns, sewing, marketing, merchandising, sourcing, and more on this blog. Includes glossary; line, process, and product reviews.
Footwear trade association with wide interests from research, design and development, to manufacturing and distribution, to retailers selling to consumers all over the globe.
Premier apparel manufacturing resource created by an FIT Production Management Dept. faculty member. Includes many links to resources and more, as well as useful tools, information, images of equipment, forms, etc. Name changed from Garmento.org in June 2016: http://garmento.org/story.htm
Includes directories, resources, and publications as well as neighborhood statistics and pedestrian counts. The Garment District Alliance (formerly known as the Fashion Center Business Improvement District) works to improve the quality of life and economic vitality of Manhattan’s Garment District.
From the Manufacturing Solutions Center
Includes Manufacturer & Supplier directories; Consumer info; Hosiery glossary and history, Shoe & sock size chart; USA/International Shoe size conversion chart; testing info., and more
TOC: Wholesale: NYC Fashion Markets Weeks (includes calendar), Showroom Directory, Buyer Resources; Design/Production Support: Sourcing Database, Source a Factory to Produce Your Line, Resources for Manufacturers/Suppliers, Resources for Emerging Designers; Fashion Week; Education: Schools & Programs, Education Resources; About NYC Fashion: The Fashion Capital (includes statistics) Fashion Facts (includes Industry Snapshot, with statistics)
Suppliers and Product directories, events calendar, press releases (industry, SFIA, & new product), industry & public affairs information, research reports (some for fee)
NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Virtual Museum's online exhibit, titled the "Standardization of Women's Clothing," includes a history of sizing standards.
For more information, especially on recent standards, use the New York Public Library web site below. For more on sizing, see 3D Body Scanner, SizeUSA, and Sizes.com listed below. Also, many standard-issuing organizations, such as ASTM International (American Society for Testing and Materials).
"Bringing technology to the sewn products industry" From Textile/Clothing Technology Corporation [TC]² and for the apparel, textile, & home furnishings industries. Includes news, library, industry resource list, video links, and vendor & service directory.
Formed by merger on July 8, 2004 of UNITE (formerly the Union of Needletrades, Textiles and Industrial Employees, itself formed by merger in 1995 of the ILGWU and the ACTWU) and HERE (Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees International Union). Information on labor; Union activities, history, and issues.
Trade Journal Sites
These sites usually include industry news, trade show/event calendar, recent articles, and sometimes include a searchable archive of articles, buyer’s guide/directory, job listings, and statistics.
