Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM 1330

Research tips and recommended sources for COM 1330 students working on Informational and Persuasive Speeches

SUGGESTED DATABASES: Academic Articles, Online Encyclopedias, & Statistics

CQ Researcher

In-depth reports on current and often controversial social issues.

Social Sciences Full Text: Wilson (EBSCO)

Includes a wide range of journals in the social sciences.

Academic Search Complete

The largest scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database.

Social Explorer

Demographic information about the United States including interactive data maps.

Statista

Statistics portal integrating data and facts in diverse subjects. Includes reports, infographics, and data that can be downloaded and exported in various formats.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Full text articles from scholarly journals in communication & mass media and related fields.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

Specialized online reference books covering a wide range of disciplines, including arts, biography, business, education, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science.

NEWSPAPER ARTICLES & EDITORIALS

Facts and Statistics

While opinion pieces may help you get a sense of the different points of view on an issue, you'll always want to verify facts by looking at scholarly research articles, newspaper articles, statistics, and even primary sources.