What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar indexes
- journal articles
- conference papers
- theses and dissertations
- academic books (especially collections of chapters by different authors)
- pre-prints (openly available early versions of articles usually in subject repositories like arXiv for physics)
- abstracts
- technical reports
- ResearchGate and Academia.edu content (some?)
- More details: https://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html#coverage
Advantages to Using Google Scholar
- All disciplines, easy inter-disciplinary research
- Citation trail! “Cited by” feature
- Gives article recommendations through “my updates”
- Indexes material not always covered by library databases
- Easily exports to citation managers
- Easy to link to City Tech library and other libraries' content
Issues to be Aware of When Using Google Scholar
- Google Scholar does not index all scholarly material.
- Even when connected to our library, Google Scholar cannot access all of the library’s collections
- Searching is more effective and targeted using the library databases.
- Library databases offer peer-review filter
Google Scholar can be connected to library resources and allow exporting of citations!
Before searching in Google Scholar first set Google Scholar’s preferences to connect to City Tech Library.
- Use the link on the library's database pages or http://cityte.ch/gschol
- On the upper left, there are three lines. Click on the three lines to open the menu
- Select the gear icon “Settings”
- Select “Library links” in the sidebar navigation on the left
- Type in “New York City College of Technology” and select it from the menu below
- Click “Save”
- Note: You will need to login once with your City Tech library barcode to access articles in databases
After selecting Library Links, search "New York City College of Technology" and then check off the options and SAVE
Now links to content in the library will appear. Finalize your customization by adding export to your citation manager in the basic settings menu.
(some text by Prof. Miriam Deutsch, Brooklyn College)
