A-Z Databases

Scholarly periodicals in a broad range of disciplines.

The largest scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database.

Books on black music. Includes liner notes from recordings.

Patient drug information in both English and Spanish

Historic American periodicals from 1691-1820.

Historic American periodicals from 1821-1837

Historic American periodicals from 1838-1852

Historic American periodicals from 1853-1865

Historic American periodicals from 1866-1912

Articles from leading chemistry journals published by the American Chemical Society.

American Drama in a range of genres including farce, melodrama, frontier plays, minstrel shows, and more.

History of business and industry. Covers 1913-1983.

Articles in applied science and computing.

News and journals about Latin America and the Caribbean.

Indexing and abstracts for hundreds of national and international art journals, plus thousands of art dissertations.

Fine art, architecture, and design articles. Also includes art reproductions.

Fine arts and design images including architecture. Images can be downloaded, printed, and saved. Please note: Artstor is now accessed through JSTOR.

Articles in physics, mathematics, and computer science.

Plays and related materials.

Citations to articles on architecture and design.

Academic Video Online includes over 66,000 titles across subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Index of biographical skecthes of more than 5 million people from around the world.

Biography index for 1946-1983.

Index to current biographies.

Full text biographies.

Biographical eBooks

Science journals and articles from the Global South.

Plays and related materials.

Books by African American authors

Encyclopedia articles and books on food

Medical journals and articles

Excerpts and select full text of book reviews. Covers books published in the U.S. and Canada.

Excerpts and citations of book reviews from 1903 to 1982. Covers books published in the U.S. and Canada.

Index to book reviews

Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, and other research tools.

Includes market research and profiles of companies and industries

An easy way to search business material from many databases at once.

Includes market research and profiles of companies and industries

Searchable and browsable history reference.

Caribbean poetry and fiction.

Document formatting and citation guide. Provides access to both the current 17th edition as well as the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.

Vehicle repair information. Includes ASE test prep quizzes.

Reviews of books.

Full content of The Chronicle of Higher Education.

Full content of The Chronicle of Philanthropy.

Resources on international affairs, politics and global issues.

Full-text nursing & allied health journals for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes the basic CINAHL database.

CiteSeerx is a digital library with scientific and academic papers that are focused on computer and information science.

This database covers civil rights in the United States as it is defined to include more and more Americans.

Resource for research in health care and medicine

Journal articles about media and communications

Articles about communication, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

Resources on global gender and women's issues.

Reports on current social and political issues.

Resources related to criminal law enforcement. Subjects include law, forensic science, and terrorism.

Data.gov is the United States government's open data website. It provides access to datasets published by agencies across the federal government.

Performances of plays, and resources about theory, criticism and understanding theatre. October 2022 update: Chrome users must use the latest version of the browser to access this database (see the support page)

Broad collection of public access journals from all research domains.

Full text plays from Black, female, Asian, and Latin American playwrights. Also theatrical posters, playbills, photos, and theatre diagrams.

Wide collection of books published in academic, scientific, technical, medical, and professional fields.

E-books on a variety of topics.

Find resources across EBSCO and search (all) multiple EBSCO databases at the same time.

Very large collection of books from the 18th century in a variety of European languages.

Resources on economics.

Access to The Economist, a news magazine, from 1843-2003.

An index for education literature.

Extensive resources about education, from 1929 to current.

Marketing research including analyst reports and statistics.

Human Services Encyclopedia and more. Limited to three users at a time.

Includes plays from the late thirteenth century to the twentieth century. Includes material from Elixabeth, Jacobean, and Restoration periods.

A large education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education with research articles and more.

Essays and articles in the humanities and social sciences. Includes literary works, drama, film, and anthologies.

Citations of essays in humanities and social sciences published 1900-1984.

Newspapers and other publications from ethnic communities and independent presses, 1990-present. Ethnicities include African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

Citations of works about the Americas written in Europe. Topics include the British/French/Dutch in America, slavery, portrayals of Native American peoples, natural disasters, religious orders

Books, articles, written profiles and other resources that support study of the intersection between fashion and race.

This database provides access to journals. It will support your research about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking

This magazine provides news on foreign policy issues and events.

Research material about a wide range of subjects, plus tools for searching by topic.

Information on important people from around the world.

Provides book summaries, author biographies, and links to book reviews

Company and industry profiles and reports

Reference database on topics related to starting a business.

Millions of biographical sources about people who are both alive and dead.

Encyclopedias and other reference books on many subjects

eBooks about a wide range of subjects.

Consumer health information for all levels. Learn about current health trends, alternative medicine, and more.

Sources organized into topic guides to help your research.

Read material about environmental issues. Includes info on polution, global change, and more.

Collection of New York State legal forms

An index to literature products published by Gale. This database allows you to search by names, pseudonyms, and variant names, titles of works, and more.

Articles to help with literary analysis and criticism. Also includes reviews and biographies.

Information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, with historical context.

Information about the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.

Information about farming and horticulture

Articles and other materials on business

Articles about cooking and nutrition

LGBTQ+ issues, family issues, gender studies, marital issues, and more.

Contains scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications with information covering culture and economics related to the travel and tourism.

Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers including the New York Times, as well as leading titles from around the world, including images, audio, and video clips

Articles from over 900 journals and other publications in psychology

Articles from scholarly and other sources on the impact of religion on culture.

Resources related to computing and computer products. Includes news, reviews, and more.

Resource about global issues.

Journals and magazines related to starting a business, marketing, and more.

Covers all levels of education and every educational specialty

Magazines for small business

Sources about the environment

Includes 3.6 million articles from journals and books.

Includes books and pamphlets. Hundreds of videos of medical procedures and live surgeries.

articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining library, information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more

Reference material in a Spanish interface

Includes material that analyzes and contributes to pop culture

Provides accessed to the most-searched magazines from Gale databases.

Current material related to a wide range of scientific disciplines

Provides access to a collection of world history journals and magazines.

Primary source materials relating to the debate on slavery in a variety of formats from the 19th century. The scope of the content is global.

Articles about people, events, and topics in US history.

Information about important world events, places, and people. From ancient history to the present.

Periodical articles on a broad range of topics.

Astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology. Includes graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.

Information to help you with global awareness. Read about context and perspectives from around the world.

Digitized plant specimens. Includes articles to read, primary sources, and other related texts.

Search engine to find academic articles and books online.

Find grants and other funding opportunities to support academic research. CUNY users should set up an account with their CUNY email.

Free database of information about how humans impact the environment. Find material about global warming, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

A health policy journal, podcast, and blog focused on issues of cost, quality and access.

Material about nursing. Includes pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.

Material about gun regulation in the United States. Includes legal material, government reports, articles, and more.

A database of periodicals, government documents, case law and more.

Info on travel, tourism, culinary arts, hospitality law, and hotel management. Includes journal articles, magazines, books, newspapers, and more.

Contains full-text articles on topics in English, history, religious studies, art history, philosophy, a foreign language, or area/ethnic studies.

Data archive of social and behavioral science research, covering the sociology and psychology of human behavior with 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Articles, books, conferences, journals, and magazines available on aerospace systems, telecommunications, biomedical engineering, computers, electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics

Infoshare Online includes over 3000 neighborhood definitions and 50,000 items of data gathered during the last decade on the neighborhoods of New York City and New York State. Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and much more.

Articles and reports on security and threat analysis.

Full-text aticles on Physics

Explore materials covering medicine including coronavirus (COVID-19) science, blood pressure guidelines, sepsis definitions, autism and cancer science, and more.

Full-text articles from hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.

Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service. For a list of currently available titles or to request new streaming films, consult this guide.

LACLI is a repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies.

Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.

Legal literature and government documents in digital micro-form.

The definitive, full-text source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world, with more than 870 full-text journals with coverage dating back to 1908.

Index for major law reviews, legal newspapers, Bar Association journals, federal and state cases, laws and regulations, and international law.

This database includes material about the history of the LGBTQ+ rights movement in America.

This collection includes articles from academic as well as popular LGBTQ publications. It also includes a number of primary historical resources.

Developed by librarians, this exceptional resource helps librarians and researchers to keep pace with the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field of library and information science, providing more than 430 full-text journals with coverage dating back to 1905.

Index for library and information science

Includes the full text of Short Story Criticism.

Primary source material, additional readings, commentary and supplementary materials for 20 specific works of literature.

Provides access to literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history.

Nursing ejournal collection. Includes American Journal of Nursing.

The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is composed of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

This ebook reference collection includes eBook titles covering a range of general reference subjects.

Articles from popular general interest and current events publications.

Collection of popular and general information resources.

This ebook reference collection includes eBook titles covering a range of general reference subjects.

Reviews of mathematics texts and bibliographic reference lists

Full text articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Created by the National Library of Medicine.

Primary source documents and periodicals from the military and government.

Full text articles in the subject areas of the armed forces and related governmental policies.

Citations to articles, books, and dissertations from the 1800s-present. From the MLA.

Find citations for books and articles in language, literature and the performing arts.

NCBI Bookshelf from the National Institute of Health provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

Historical archive of National Geographic from 1888 to 1994. (Content from April 2005 until three months ago is freely available.)

Full text articles on topics of nature, biology, and medicine.

Streaming classical music database, which allows users to save their own playlists. Limited to 3 users at a time--please remember to logout.

Primary sources in a wide variety of formats in their original languages.

Full text articles on medical research.

Explore digitized material from the City Tech Archives

Digital collections with primary documents and photographs related to New York State history.

Digitized prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more from the collections of the New York Public Library.

Access to the New York Times for all users with a City Tech email address. Follow these instructions in order to register.

The New York Times in .pdf format from 1851 to the last four years.

News, business, legal and medical articles.

Plays by North American Indian playwrights.

Plays by women playwrights from the US and Canada.

The Northeast Slavery Records Index (NESRI) is an online searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey.

Articles from nursing & allied health journals

Access the latest medical research literature, disease and drug information, and patient-family education printouts.

Nursing Reference Center Plus provides staff nurses and nurse educators with resources that supports education goals, encourages residents and students to access the original research, and provide options for patient care.

Data about New York City.

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics site which provides statistics and information on career and job fields.

Contains publications by the Open Society Justice Initiative at the Open Society Foundation.

Freely available theses

Articles and differing viewpoints on current political and social issues.

Articles on nursing and health.

Nursing ebooks. New titles added Winter 2015.

Encyclopedia articles, primary sources, maps, and images in African American studies.

Art encyclopedia with image search.

Research guides to subjects in architecture, art, and art history

English dictionary that includes the history of words and when they were first used in print.

Music encyclopedia covering topics of music, musicians, music-making and instruments.

Subject-specific dictionaries, bilingual English dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference tools.

Provides vocational and academic test prep material, including for high school, college, and graduate level standardized tests.

A comprehensive index of scholarly research in philosophy

Peer-reviewed journals and popular magazines in physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.

Find funding opportunities for research and fieldwork. Users must create an account with a CUNY email address.

Standards for the Entertainment Technology industry. Users need to register with their email address.

Poems, short stories, biographies, essays, and lesson plans. Also contains video and audio recordings

Articles on education for researchers.

Journal articles and books in the humanities and social sciences.

Books and journals on cultural and ethnic studies, women's and gender studies, disability studies, and more.

Articles from scholarly journals in psychology

Journal articles in psychology. Coverage from 1800s to the present.

Open access science and medical journals from the Public Library of Science.

Biomedical content from the National Library of Medicine. Includes MedLine and PubMedCentral.

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Articles from magazines published in the United States and Canada

Citations to articles from popular magazines. Covers the years 1890-1982.

Collect, save, and cite sources for research papers.

Regional and national business news from newspapers and more.

Science is a top journal of original research, global news, and commentary related to science.

Large collection of articles on science, technology, and medicine.

8th edition of the CSE guide to citing sources in natural sciences.

60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, plus reviews and related essays.

Looking for a journal to publish in? This resource provides information on hundreds of thousands of serials.

Early English newspapers

Collection of historical sources on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

Visualize and analyze U.S. Census data and create dynamic maps.

Includes a wide range of journals in the social sciences.

Indexes a wide range of important journals in all areas of the social sciences as far back as 1929.

Scholarly articles and books in sociology.

Academic ebooks on a variety of topics.

Articles and books in medicine, science, and technology.

Open Access encyclopedia of philosophy

Data and figures on a wide range of topics. Includes infographics, figures, stats, and more.

Documents on the social and political history of south African countries.

Swank is a database of academic streaming video

Index for articles in education journals

Complete Works of William Shakespeare's plays and poetry, hosted by MIT.

Works of literature on economics and business published from 1450 through 1850.

Collection of theatre history books, playbills, posters, and photographs

Resource that explores gender, sex, and identity.

Covers plays and related theater material. This includes playbills, images, and other material.

Includes material from well-known English playwrights as well as lesser-known authors.

Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census.

Provides access to journals and magazines about events in U.S. history.

Comics and graphic novel primary source database.

Abstracts on urban affairs in urban history.

Provides access to journals and magazines on jobs and careers.

Newspaper that focuses on finance and business. | Sign-up with your CUNY email address for a complimentary one year pass to access the web and app versions of this newspaper. When your subscription expires, you will have to reactivate your membership and confirm your email.If you already have a paid account, you may call 1-800-568-7625 to receive a refund of the remaining balance if you mention that you are signing-up through CUNY.

Provides access to magazines and journals that examine conflicts. This includes their causes and global impact.

Collection that cover a wide variety of topics.

Resource on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes primary resources, support materials, chronology, and teaching tools.

A World Heritage Site is a protected landmark. This provides information about those sites in Africa.

WorldCat is a global library catalog. It can be used to find books in libraries around the world.

Pamphlets covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of the 19th century.