Skip to main content

Resources for Academic Publishing

Geared to faculty who need support in their efforts towards scholarly publication

Workshop summary

In-depth lit survey, second part. Iterative to week two, much more intensive and hands-on, library facilitates half session with writing support and other facilitation not from library. The content will be determined by the workshop participants, e.g. if anyone needs data sets, archival resources, etc.  We'll review pertinent library resources and get into using Google Scholar in-depth including using the cited feature to identify subsequent authors who cite a paper.

Google Scholar to the Max!

Create a Google Scholar profile

  • this helps others find your work
  • this helps you find the work of other scholars that relates 
  • sign in with your google email--if you don't have an account with Google, you can't use this feature

Manually add your articles after you create your profile and set your updating options

My updates

  • based on your citations

Setting up alerts

  • alerts can be based on your article titles or on your keywords
  • alerts can be created without a Google Scholar Profile. 
    • Login using your gmail account
    • Select ALERTS


Select CREATE ALERT, add your query in the ALERT QUERY search box, and save by clicking again on CREATE ALERT. 

Tracing citations (cited by)

  • a powerful tool to see how an important article was cited by subsequent authors
  • Related articles  also useful to look at 

Data and statistical sources

The library provides access to some excellent data and statistical sources that are not freely available. Some highlights include: 

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Archive of social science data files for research and instruction. 

Infoshare Online
​Statistical resource drawing on dozens of local, state and national databases. Provides demographic, socioeconomic and health data for a variety of areas, including the 292 neighborhoods of NYC. Allows users to generate tables of their own choosing. 
 
eMarketer
Aggregates marketing research with a focus on information related to the Internet, e-business, online marketing and emerging technologies. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles and e-business and online marketing statistics. Note that the iTunes URL is for iPhone.
 
NYCdata (Baruch, freely available)
Data about New York City. 
 
Social Explorer
Demographic information about the United States including interactive data maps.
 
Statista
Statistics portal integrating data and facts in diverse subjects. Includes reports, infographics, and data that can be downloaded and exported in various formats.

Archives and other primary sources

 

Society of American Archivists: Guide to Archives
​Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research

  1. What Are Archives and How Do They Differ from Libraries?
  2. Types of Archives
  3. Finding and Evaluating Archives
  4. Requesting Materials Remotely
  5. Planning to Visit an Archives
  6. Typical Usage Guidelines in Archival Repositories
  7. Notes on Copyright, Restrictions, and Unprocessed Collections
  8. Visiting an Archives
  9. A Final Word/Additional Resources
  10. Appendix: Sample Annotated Finding Aid

NUCMUC (National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections)


The library also has many excellent databases of primary sources.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, charting the development of newspapers, the free press, and the concept of news and totaling almost one-million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Bibliographic database indexing European works that relate to the Americas. Topics include the history of European exploration, portrayals of native American peoples, disease outbreaks and slavery.  (not full text)

Making of the Modern World
Works of literature on economics and business published from 1450 through 1850. 

NCCO (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
Primary source collections in a wide variety of formats from the 19th century in a variety of European languages. Collections include: British Politics and Society; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World through the Lens; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks. 

New York Heritage Digital Collections
Freely accessible digital historical collections from libraries, museums and archives from all over New York State. 

New York Times, Historical (ProQuest)
The New York Times in .pdf format from 1851 to the last four years. 

Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Primary source materials relating to the debate on slavery in a variety of formats from the 19th century. The scope of the content is global. 

Women and Social Movements
Resource on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes many primary resources, support materials, chronology and teaching tools. 

World Scholar Archive: Latin America and the Caribbean
Coverage from 1492 - 1986. Features primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean.

Contact

Ursula C. Schwerin Library
New York City College of Technology
of the City University of New York
300 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Circulation: 718.260.5470
Reference: 718.260.5485

Site Map
Comments
Privacy Policy