Skip to main content

Economics

This guide will help you get started with research in Economics at the City Tech Library and beyond.

Reference Resources

The library has many reference books like encyclopedias, dictionaries and atlases that are useful for Economics research. You can search for reference books by keyword or subject in the library catalog.

Print reference books are located on the shelves behind the Reference Desk on the 4th floor of the library. Print reference books can only be used in the library.

Many of our reference books are available electronically (ebooks) -- read them by clicking through the links in the library catalog. For off-campus access to ebooks, login with library number on the front of your ID. For more information or to report a problem, see Off-campus Access on the Library website.

This is a select bibliography. For a more comprehensive look at the library's Economics reference books, check the reference section under the Library of Congress (LC) call number beginning with the letter H, particularly HB and HC.

Here are a few popular reference books for Economics:

  • Encyclopedia of Tariffs and Trade in U.S. History. vol. 1-3 (Volume one is in encyclopedic form. Volume two contains primary documents. Volume three has the actual texts of the tariffs.)

CALL NUMBER: Reference - HF 1705.E53 2003

  • Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics. (Entries are written in essay form. Especially good for undergraduate assignments.)

CALL NUMBER: Reference - HB 61.F67 1993

  • Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History. vol. 1-2 (Another good resource for undergraduates.)

CALL NUMBER: Reference - HC 102.G35 1999

  • Landmarks in Modern American Business. vol. 1-3 (Focuses on developments in U.S. business and economics. Easy-to-use. Lots of secondary material.)

CALL NUMBER: Reference - HF 3021.L36 2000

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook. (Information on thousands of job titles. An invaluable resource. Also available in an online version via CUNY's licensed resources.)

CALL NUMBER: Reference - HB 61.F67

  • Routledge Dictionary of Economics. (Clear. Concise. Comprehensive.)

CALL NUMBER: Reference - HB 61.R92 2002

Contact

Ursula C. Schwerin Library
New York City College of Technology
of the City University of New York
300 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Circulation: 718.260.5470
Reference: 718.260.5485

Site Map
Comments
Privacy Policy