Skip to main content

New York City Research Guide

This guide will help you locate information about New York City

History museums and cultural institutions

New York has several institutions devoted to preserving and teaching about the city's history and culture. Many museums in the New York area maintain collections of primary source materials in their archives. Some even have digitized collections of historic photographs and other documents.

 

The Museum of the City of New York features exhibitions, education, and collections on New York City's past, present and future.
The New-York Historical Society covers four centuries of New York's history in its public programs, exhibitions, and research resources.
The Municipal Art Society works to preserve New York City's buildings and urban environment.
The Municipal Archives contains historical documents pertaining to New York City's government.
The Brooklyn Historical Society is a 10 minute walk from City Tech. It features exhibits and collections about Brooklyn's history.
The Queens Historical Society preserves the social, political and economic history of Queens.
The Bronx County Historical Society consists of several sites, including historic houses and a research library.
The Staten Island Museum exhibits feature local history, science and art.

Contact

Ursula C. Schwerin Library
New York City College of Technology
of the City University of New York
300 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Circulation: 718.260.5470
Reference: 718.260.5485

Site Map
Comments
Privacy Policy